Competence in Transformation

Transformation

Definition

Transformation is change. Change drives us forwards, from personal growth, through corporate development and towards social advancement.

Each change spurs further changes: usually, change is a series of continuous challenges composed of many small steps – sometimes change accumulates, crossing a threshold that demands radically new ways of thinking and acting.

Transformation is the process of moving from an older state into a new one. Transformation understands the reasons for change on an intimate level – these are usually a combination of market and competitive conditions, cycles of technology, and mergers and acquisitions. Transformation focuses on the complex process of change itself, affecting both central IT systems and entire organisational structures containing large numbers of employees. Transformation differs substantially from classic IT projects.

 

Difference

A transformation is no classic project. Transformations differ from projects and programmes in the three parameters of duration, effect and level of difficulty.

Implementing them often takes many years. These changes affect wide-ranging areas of the corporate organisation, and sometimes all areas at once. The complexity of the task demands new, more effective instruments for project planning and project management.

Transformation means opening up new technological and organisational territory, whose topographies, risks and reference points can’t be precisely planned or predicted. Each transformation is unique, requiring a customised approach in conceptualisation and in selecting methods. This, in turn, has consequences for developing strategies and goals.

Dilemma

The larger the project, the stronger the desire to plan everything in advance.

The more complex the project, the stronger the desire to fall back on proven methods. The more important the project, the greater the impulse to set goals early and cling to them resolutely.

These strategies – which may, in and of themselves, seem rational – are too simple for a complex transformational project, and can cause it to fail in one or more project dimensions. With growing complexity, the need for traditional and innovative approaches also grows. Developing and applying these approaches is the focus of our work.

Company

Focus

The process of transformation, in all of its dimensions, is the focus of our work.

This includes modelling the vision, mobilising the organisation, developing and selecting instruments, and ensuring implementation. Our consulting teams will support the planning phase, then work alongside you for either the entire life cycle of the transformation or for selected sections and elements. We specialise in transformations at large companies. Meaningfully linking IT with specialist divisions, and coordinating between top management and the implementation organisation – these aspects are especially important for us.

Clients

Our core business is supporting transformations in major banks, insurance companies and industrial corporations.

These are branches where global economic, demographic and technological changes have acute effects, and in which striking out in new strategic directions is a key criterion for success. Our consultants are the specialists our clients need for this complex, volatile environment.

Goals

All of our highly specialised consultants have personally led or provided support for transformation projects.

All of our consultants are experienced, ambitious team players with an understanding of comprehensive processes and a sharp eye for details. They support transformation projects over their entire duration, or in select phases, advising our clients in the especially critical areas of setting goals and modelling objectives.

Dynamics

Range of objectivs

Establishing a range of objectives includes breaking down an initial vision into clearly defined goals, which define the stages of a transformation process.

Top-down planning is just as important as bottom-up analyses throughout the corporate environment to achieve a unified perspective and include all identified stakeholders right from the start.

At the beginning of a transformation project, it will not be possible to fully or exhaustively describe the range of objectives. Transformations involve striking out on new organisational and technological paths and testing undiscovered potentials.

Modelling objectives is, therefore, a process that continues in parallel over the entire duration of the project. Supported by our team, this process starts with an initial establishment of objectives by the top management. These objectives are then described in more precision and more detail through a continuous process, a process which is also reflected in strategic development.

Strategy

The development of a transformation strategy reflects the process of goal planning in several important ways.

The complex development of the transformation strategy runs in parallel to the transformation project throughout its entire duration. Just like the establishment of goals, this process starts with an initial conceptualisation of corporate strategy. Our team then supports you in continuously redeveloping this strategy throughout the duration of the project.

On the one hand, developing a robust and consistent transformation strategy with customised, advanced strategic tools is crucial. On the other hand, these strategies have to be systematically adapted, iterated and enriched with alternative solutions to adjust to real-world conditions.

The complexity of the project, its long duration and taking new paths typically make it difficult to completely predict developments and trade-offs. The dynamics of transformation strategies and goal definition therefore require an especially sophisticated type of project management – transformation management.

Management

Transformations require specialised project management using specialised tools.

Dynamics surrounding goals and strategies, a long project duration including major changes throughout the entire company at high levels of complexity, and opening up new technological and organisational territory means a transformation project requires not only traditional project management methods, but also other types of powerful instruments.

Transformations can only be mastered successfully using iterative project management of varying speeds with powerful tools and instruments that can be adjusted dynamically to changing realities.

Performance, trust and expertise in project consulting for corporate leaders and managers are the core skills of our teams. Their passion is modelling goals, strategy, and comprehensive perspectives, using these to quickly master frequent strategic decisions over the course of the project.

Performance

People

Performance, trust and expertise are the three pillars of our work.

Each of our consultants offers unique skills and a personal expression of the qualities of performance, trust and expertise in their consulting services.

Our consulting teams are made up of scientists, business owners, managers and consultants with ten or more years of professional experience in major banks, insurance firms and leading consulting companies. They have all supported and managed complex transformations. A passion for creating managed change connects them all.

Industry experience, comprehensive expert knowledge, leadership qualities and a commitment to persistently finding and refining individualised solutions: This combination means our consulting teams are more than the sum of their parts. They are the unique feature of our company, which we promote and maintain through our extraordinary work environment and corporate culture.

Opportunities

Extraordinary people for extraordinary projects in an extraordinary corporate environment, in which anything is possible and everything remains achievable.

A high level of personal responsibility, effective teams, direct communication and quick decision-making: these are the qualities we offer new experienced professionals joining us from the very first day.

The chance to gain experience in the challenges of complex changes in major companies in the financial sector, and to accept responsibilities to quickly achieve personal success: that’s what we offer graduates from the very first day.

We honour performance, success, enjoyment of your work and fulfilling our high demands with recognition, plenty of opportunities for personal growth and fair pay.

Tasks

Our consultants guide our clients’ transformation projects to success with flat hierarchies, interdisciplinary teams, and a combination of partnership and leadership.

Our consultants work in flat hierarchies, supporting the client’s company no matter their level or career stage to contribute to its success. This also encourages our company to develop further, in both our corporate culture and substantive services.

Our consultants work in interdisciplinary teams of four to six, usually as part of larger project structures, with national and international clients. They typically work for clients four days on site and one day from our office, also using their office day to exchange ideas with colleagues.

Our consultants live out our goals and values, externally as well as internally. At the same time, they embody our company through partnership and leadership, and support our clients by providing sustainable impact through multi-month commitments. This allows them to stand by during complex change processes and guide transformations to successful conclusions.

Kompetenz in Transformation

Transformation

Definition

Transformation ist Veränderung. Veränderung treibt voran, vom persönlichen Wachstum über die unternehmerische Entwicklung bis zum gesellschaftlichen Fortschritt.

Veränderung ist der Motor für weitere Veränderung: meist als kontinuierliche Herausforderung mit vielen kleinen Schritten, manchmal akkumulierend bis zu einer Schwelle, die ein radikal neues Denken und Handeln erfordert.

Transformation ist der Prozess vom alten in den neuen Zustand. Transformation kennt die Gründe der Veränderung genau – zumeist eine Kombination aus Markt- und Wettbewerbsbedingungen, Technologiezyklen und Mergers & Acquisitions. Transformation fokussiert auf den komplexen Prozess der Veränderung selbst, der neben den zentralen IT-Systemen auch ganze organisatorische Strukturen mit zahlreichen Mitarbeitern betrifft und sich substantiell von klassischen IT-Projekten unterscheidet.

 

Differenz

Eine Transformation ist kein klassisches Projekt. Transformationen unterscheiden sich von Projekten und Programmen in den drei Parametern Dauer, Auswirkung und Schwierigkeitsgrad.

Die Umsetzung dauert oft viele Jahre. Die Veränderungen betreffen weite Teile der Unternehmensorganisation, mitunter alle. Die Komplexität der Aufgabe erfordert neue, effektivere Instrumente zur Projektplanung und für das Projektmanagement.

Transformation bedeutet, technologisches und organisatorisches Neuland zu erschließen, dessen Topographien sich einschließlich Risiken und Orientierungsmarken nicht mit beliebiger Präzision planen und vorhersagen lassen. Jede Transformation ist einzigartig und erfordert ein individuelles Vorgehen bei der Konzeption und der Methodenwahl. Dies wiederum hat Konsequenzen für die Entwicklung von Strategie und Zielbild.

.

Dilemma

Je größer das Projekt, desto stärker der Impuls, alles im Vorfeld durchzuplanen.

Je komplexer das Projekt, desto stärker der Impuls, auf traditionell bewährte Methoden zurückzugreifen. Je wichtiger das Projekt, desto größer der Impuls, konsequent an möglichst früh gefassten Zielen festzuhalten.

Diese an sich rational und vernünftig erscheinenden Strategien sind zu einfach für die Komplexität eines Transformationsprojekts und tragen zum Scheitern in einer oder mehreren Projektdimensionen bei. Mit wachsender Komplexität steigt der Bedarf an traditionellen und innovativen Ansätzen, deren Ausarbeitung und Anwendung im Mittelpunkt unserer Arbeit stehen.

Unternehmen

Fokus

Im Fokus unserer Arbeit steht der Transformationsprozess in allen seinen Dimensionen.

Dies umfasst die Modellierung der Vision, die Mobilisierung der Organisation, die Entwicklung und Auswahl der Instrumente und die Sicherung der Umsetzung. Mit unseren Beratungsteams begleiten wir die Planungsphase und den gesamten Lebenszyklus der Transformation oder ausgewählte Abschnitte und Teilaspekte. Spezialisiert sind wir dabei auf Transformationen bei großen Unternehmen. Die kraftschlüssige Kopplung der IT und der Fachbereiche sowie die Abstimmung zwischen Top-Management und der Umsetzungsorganisation sind hierbei für uns von besonderer Bedeutung.

Klienten

Unsere Kernkompetenz ist die Begleitung von Transformationen in Großbanken, Versicherungen und Industrieunternehmen.

Branchen, auf die sich globale wirtschaftliche, demographische und technologische Veränderungen intensiv auswirken und in der strategische Neuausrichtungen zum Erfolgskriterium geworden sind. Für dieses komplexe, volatile Umfeld sind unsere Beraterinnen und Berater die Spezialisten, die unsere Klienten suchen.

Ziele

Alle unsere hochspezialisierten Beraterinnen und Berater haben Transformationsprojekte verantwortlich geleitet oder unterstützt.

Alle unsere Beraterinnen und Berater sind erfahrene und ambitionierte Team-Menschen mit einem Bewusstsein für ganzheitliche Prozesse und einem scharfen Auge für Details. Sie begleiten ein Transformationsprojekt über die gesamte Laufzeit oder ausgewählte Phasen und unterstützen unsere Klienten in den besonders kritischen Bereichen der Zielfindung und Zielbildmodellierung.

Dynamik

Zielbild

Zur Zielbildfindung gehört das Herunterbrechen der initialen Vision auf klar definierte Ziele, welche die Bauabschnitte der Transformation definieren.

Top-down-Planungen sind dabei ebenso wichtig wie Bottom-up-Analysen im gesamten unternehmerischen Umfeld, um eine ganzheitliche Perspektive zu erlangen und alle identifizierten Stakeholder von Beginn an einzubinden.

Zu den Eigenschaften eines Zielbilds gehört auch, dass es zu Beginn des Transformationsprojekts nicht vollständig und abschließend beschrieben werden kann. Zu einer Transformation gehören das Beschreiten neuer organisatorischer und technologischer Wege und das Austesten von unentdeckten Potentialen.

Die Modellierung des Zielbilds ist daher ein Prozess, der die Transformation über die gesamte Projektlaufzeit begleitet. Unterstützt von unserem Team beginnt sie mit der initialen Zielbildfindung im Top-Management und wird während des Projektverlaufs kontinuierlich auf eine Weise präzisiert und detailliert, wie sie sich auch in der Strategieentwicklung widerspiegelt.

Strategie

Die Entwicklung der Transformationsstrategie spiegelt den Prozess der Zielfindung in wichtigen Aspekten wider.

Die komplexe Entwicklung der Transformationsstrategie begleitet das Transformationsprojekt über die gesamte Laufzeit. Ebenso wie die Zielfindung beginnt dieser Prozess, unterstützt durch unser Team, mit der initialen Konzeption einer Unternehmensstrategie, die im Zuge des Projektverlaufs kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt wird.

Auf der einen Seite ist die Entwicklung einer robusten und konsistenten Transformationsstrategie mit individuell angepassten und konzeptionell erweiterten Strategiewerkzeugen von entscheidender Bedeutung. Auf der anderen Seite müssen diese Strategien aufgrund eintretender Realitäten konsequent angepasst, iteriert und mit Lösungsalternativen angereichert werden.

Die Projektkomplexität, die lange Projektdauer und das Begehen neuer Pfade machen es typischerweise schwer, Entwicklungen und Trade-offs vollständig vorherzusagen. Die Dynamiken von Transformationsstrategie und Zielbild wiederum erfordern deswegen eine besonders erfahrene Art des Projektmanagements, das Transformationsmanagement.

Management

Transformationen brauchen ein spezielles Projektmanagement mit speziellen Werkzeugen.

Dynamiken im Umfeld von Zielbild und Strategie, eine lange Projektlaufzeit mit massiven Veränderungen im gesamten Unternehmen auf höchster Komplexitätsstufe und das Erschließen technologischen und organisatorischen Neulands machen eine Transformation zu einem Projekt, das über traditionelle Projektmanagementmethoden hinaus leistungsfähige Instrumente benötigt.

Erfolgreich bewältigen lässt sich eine Transformation nur mit einem iterativen Projektmanagement der verschiedenen Geschwindigkeiten mit leistungsfähigen Werkzeugen und Instrumenten, die dynamisch an veränderte Realitäten angepasst werden können.

Performance, Trust und Expertise in der Projektberatung für Unternehmensleitung und Führungskräfte vom Modellieren von Zielbild, Strategie und ganzheitlicher Perspektive bis zu strategischen Entscheidungen, die während der gesamten Projektlaufzeit häufig und zeitnah getroffen werden müssen, sind die Kernkompetenzen und Leidenschaften unserer Beratungsteams.

Leistung

Menschen

Performance, Trust und Expertise sind die drei Säulen unserer Arbeit.

Jeder einzelne unserer Berater bringt mit seinen Fähigkeiten eine individuelle Ausprägung der Qualitäten Performance, Trust und Expertise in die Beratungsleistung ein.

Unsere Beratungsteams bestehen aus Wissenschaftlern, Unternehmern, Managern und Beratern mit zehn und mehr Jahren Berufserfahrung in Großbanken, Versicherungen und führenden Beratungsfirmen. Sie alle haben komplexe Transformationen begleitet und verantwortet. Sie alle verbindet die Leidenschaft für das kontrollierte Schaffen von Veränderung.

Branchenerfahrung, ineinandergreifendes Expertenwissen, Führungsqualitäten und engagierte Beharrlichkeit beim Finden und Verfeinern individueller Lösungen: Diese Kombination macht unsere Beratungsteams zu mehr als nur der Summe ihrer Teile. Und zu unserem Alleinstellungsmerkmal, das wir durch eine außergewöhnliche Arbeitsumgebung und Arbeitskultur fördern und bewahren.

Chancen

Außergewöhnliche Menschen für außergewöhnliche Projekte in einem außergewöhnlichen Arbeitsumfeld, in dem alles möglich ist und alles machbar bleibt.

Hohe Eigenverantwortung, schlagkräftige Teams, direkte Kommunikation und schnelle Entscheidungen: Das erwartet neue Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter mit Erfahrung ab dem ersten Tag.

Gelegenheit, sich intensiv für die Herausforderungen komplexer Veränderungen bei großen Unternehmen im Finanzwirtschaftssektor zu qualifizieren und durch Übernahme von Verantwortung rasch persönliche Erfolge zu erzielen: Das erwartet Absolventinnen und Absolventen ab dem ersten Tag.

Mit Anerkennung, umfangreichen Möglichkeiten zur persönlichen Weiterentwicklung und entsprechender Vergütung honorieren wir Leistung und Erfolg, Spaß an der Arbeit und das Erfüllen höchster Ansprüche mit Wissen, Erfahrung und Enthusiasmus.

Aufgaben

Mit flachen Hierarchien, interdisziplinären Teams und der Kombination von Partnerschaft und Leadership führen unsere Beraterinnen und Berater die Transformationen unserer Klienten zum Erfolg.

Unsere Beraterinnen und Berater arbeiten in flachen Hierarchien und bringen sich auf allen Ebenen und Karrierestufen unterstützend in das Unternehmen des Klienten ein und tragen so zu seinem Erfolg bei. Dies fördert außerdem die inhaltliche und kulturelle Weiterentwicklung unseres Unternehmens.

Unsere Beraterinnen und Berater arbeiten in vier- bis sechsköpfigen interdisziplinären Teams, meist als Teil übergeordneter Projektstrukturen, bei nationalen und internationalen Klienten. Sie arbeiten für die Klienten in der Regel vier Tage vor Ort und einen Tag von unserem Office aus und nutzen den Office-Tag gleichzeitig zum Austausch mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen.

Unsere Beraterinnen und Berater leben unsere Ziele und Werte nach innen wie nach außen. Sie verkörpern unser Unternehmen gleichzeitig durch Partnerschaft und Leadership und begleiten unsere Klienten für nachhaltigen Impact in mehrmonatigen Engagements durch den komplexen Prozess der Veränderung und führen Transformationen zum Erfolg.